Days
Hours
Minutes
Seconds
0
Days
0
Communities
0
Lectures
0
Speakers

What is The Global Family Health and Halacha Conference?

Together, let’s strengthen ourselves, our relationships and our health. Nishmat Yoatzot Halacha, rabbis, rebbetzins, physicians, therapists and community leaders will guide us in conversations that focus on our spiritual, emotional and physical well-being, as individuals and in our closest relationships. Our advanced conferencing platform will simulate being together in person, as best as we can in these unconventional times.

There is Something for Everyone!

About Us

Nishmat's Miriam Glaubach Center/ American Friends of Nishmat

Nishmat’s Yoatzot Halacha are women advisors in Jewish law. We specialize in the intersection between women’s reproductive health and Jewish law. Yoatzot Halacha have become a trusted halachic resource serving tens of thousands of women and families worldwide annually. In the United States and Canada, Nishmat’s Yoatzot Halacha are educated and certified by Nishmat’s Miriam Glaubach Center. They are employed in 25 communities and work closely with shul rabbis to meet community needs.

Canadian Yoatzot Initiative/ Mizrachi Canada

The Canadian Yoatzot Initiative serves Canadian Jewish communities under the auspices of Mizrachi, a global community-oriented organization focused on building and strengthening Modern Orthodox and Religious Zionist Communities around the World.

Partnering Organizations

Partnering Communities

Meet Our Speakers

Schedule

  • Sunday May 2
  • Monday May 3
  • Tuesday May 4
  • Wednesday May 5

If I am not for Myself:
Self-Care

If I'm only for Myself:
Family-Care

10:30 AM EDT/ 7:30 AM PDT

Zooming in, Zooming Out: Interpersonal Relationships in our Time

Yoetzet Halacha Racheli Taubes and Rabbi Yaakov Taubes

Shana Rishona: Building Healthy Intimacy

Yoetzet Halacha Shiffy Friedman, Rabbi Elan Mazer and Rachel Hercman

11:30 AM EDT/ 8:30 AM PDT

Everything Egg Freezing

Yoetzet Halacha Adina Blaustein and Dr. Bat-Sheva Maslow

Sustaining Passion in Perimenopause

Yoetzet Halacha Rivka Alter and Suri Halpern, LMFT

11:30 AM EDT/ 8:30 AM PDT

Nishmat Kallah Teacher Reunion

Yoetzet Halacha Shoshana Samuels with Nishmat-Certified Kallah Teachers

12:30 PM EDT/ 9:30 AM PDT

Educating our Children for Healthy and Holy Intimacy

Yoetzet Halacha Ilana Gadish, Dr. Yardaena Osband and Rachel Tuchman, LMHC

Thorns in the Hedge of Roses? Challenges Keeping Taharat Hamishpacha

Yoetzet Halacha Atara Eis and Dr. Shy Krug

1:30 PM EDT/ 10:30 PM PDT

Keynote Address #1: Optimism and Resilience One Year Later

Yoetzet Halacha Nechama Price, Rabbi Elan Mazer, Rabbi J.J. Schacter, Shana Yocheved Schacter​, LCSW

2:30 PM EDT/ 11:30 AM PDT

Keynote Address #1:
Stability in the Eye of the Storm

Sivan Rahav Meir interviews Rabbanit Chana Henkin

3:30 PM EDT/ 12:30 AM PDT

Domestic Abuse and Get Refusal

Rabbi Yona Reiss, Dr David Pelcovitz, Keshet Starr

5:00 PM EDT/ 2:00 PM PDT

Inspiring Religious Growth in our Ourselves and in our Children​

Yoetzet Halacha Shayna Goldberg

7:00 PM EDT/ 4:00 PM PDT

Care or Compulsion: Taharat HaMishpacha and Scrupulosity

Yoetzet Halacha Shira Donath and Dr. Regine Galanti

Dealing with Difficult Relationships: Famous In-law Stories of the Torah

Yoetzet Halacha Nechama Price

8:00 PM EDT/ 5:00 PM PDT

So, I Married an Addict

Yoetzet Halacha Lisa Septimus interviews The Frock NYC’s Chaya Chanin

What Men and Women really Want

Yoetzet Halacha Rifki & Rabbi Yechezkel Freundlich, Diana Melnick, MACP, RP

9:00 PM EDT/ 6:00 PM PDT

Social Media: Selfies and Self Image

Yoetzet Halacha Lisa Septimus and Dr. Sarah Roer Bendheim

Desire Discrepancies

Yoetzet Halacha Rachelle Sprecher Fraenkel and Elisheva Liss, LMFT

11:00 PM EDT/ 8:00 PM PDT

Mental Health in Halacha

Yoetzet Halacha Rachelle Sprecher Fraenkel and Dr. Chana Gelb

Fertility Journey Featuring Nishmat’s Fertility Counselors, in conjunction with Gefen Fertility

The Four Trimesters

1:00 PM EDT/ 10:00 PM PDT

Fertility Journey I: Diagnosis NOTE: BEGINS AT 1:30 PM​

Yoetzet Halacha Laurie Novick, Dr. Jordana Hyman and Dr. Rhonda Adessky 

Prenatal Genetic Screening

Yoetzet Halacha Rifki Freundlich, Rabbi Kenneth Auman and Dr. Nathan Fox

8:00 PM EDT/ 5:00 PM PDT

Fertility Journey II: Treatment

Yoetzet Halacha Atara Eis, Dr. Bat-Sheva Maslow and Dr. Karen Wasserstein

Rescripting Maternal Mental Health

Yoetzet Halacha Tova Warburg Sinensky, Dvora Entin LCSW, Dr. Naomi Greenblatt

9:00 PM EDT/ 6:00 PM PDT

Navigating Real Life Situations: Special Men's Talk​

Rabbi Daniel Korobkin, Rabbi Reuven Brand 

Breastfeeding and Lactation in Halacha

Dr. Deena Zimmerman, MD, MPH IBCLC and Chanie Fingerer, RN

11:00 PM EDT/ 8:00 PM PDT

Sperm Donors, Egg Donors, and Surrogates: Halacha in Practice

Yoetzet Halacha Yardena Cope Yossef Bodenheimer, Rav Gideon Weitzman & Dr. Sahar Wertheimer

11:00 AM EDT/ 8:00 PM PDT

Naomi Nachman's cooking demo- "Dairy Delights for Shavuot

Naomi Nachman

12:00 PM EDT/ 9:00 PM PDT

Mat Pilates 101

Lisa Silverstein, “Pilates in a Pencil Skirt”

Family Planning

Health Challenges

1 PM EDT/10 AM PDT

Going Hormone Free? Fertility Awareness Method & Halacha

Yoetzet Halacha Adi Bitter

Preventative Breast Health

Yoetzet Halacha Atara Segal, Dr. Ellen Warner and Melissa Rosen of Sharsheret

8:00 PM EDT/ 5:00 PM PDT

Contraception Confusion: Options and Consequences

Yoetzet Halacha Sarah Cheses and Dr. Rachel Weinerman

Mikveh with a Medical Challenge

Yoetzet Halacha Dena Block and Dr. Elissa Hellman

9:00 PM EDT/ 6:00 PM PDT

Pull at the Heartstrings or Knot in the Stomach: Family Planning after 35

Yoetzet Halacha Rifka Sonenberg and Rabbi Mordechai Torczyner

Pelvic Floor Dysfunction

Yoetzet Halacha Bracha Rutner, Dr. Scott & Rivki Chudnoff

10:30 PM EDT/ 7:30 PM PDT

Pelvic Pain, Painful Periods, Unexplained Infertility:
Endometriosis and its Halachic Implications

Yoetzet Halacha Dr. Jordana Topp and Dr. Iris Orbuch

11:30 PM EDT/ 8:30 PM PDT

Midor leDor: Preconception Genetic Testing

Yoetzet Halacha Ilana Gadish, Dr. Larry Platt and Dr. Hindi Posy

2 PM EDT/11 AM PDT

High School Student Session

What Do You Really Want?

Yoetzet Halacha Shayna Goldberg​

12 PM EDT/9 AM PDT

High School Student Session

What does the Torah say about Falling In Love?

Yoetzet Halacha Lisa Septimus

12:00 PM EDT/ 9:00 PM PDT

Mat Pilates 101

Lisa Silverstein, “Pilates in a Pencil Skirt”

Celebrating 21 Years of Nishmat Yoatzot Halacha

1:00 PM EDT/ 10:00 AM PDT

From Classic Questions to Confronting Covid: 21 Years in the Field

Yoatzot Halacha Shira Donath, Hadassa Klein and Nechama Price

Moderator: Avital Chizhik-Goldschmidt

Yoatzot In Action

8:00 PM EDT/ 5:00 PM PDT

Makeup, Manicures & Mikveh

Yoatzot Halacha Hindy Feder and Bracha Rutner 

Can't I Do My Tevilah in the Tub? Coronavirus and the Makeshift Mikveh

Yoetzet Halacha Stacey Goldman and Rabbi Gedalyah Berger

Yoatzot In Collaboration

9:00 PM EDT/ 6:00 PM PDT

Moreh Derech: Rav Yehuda Herzl Henkin ZT"L and the Yoatzot Halacha

Yoetzet Halacha Laurie Novick

11:00 PM EDT/ 8:00 PM PDT

Closing Remarks

Rabbanit Henkin

Register now

for more information:

American Friends of Nishmat | 520 Eighth Avenue, 4th Floor | New York, NY 10018 | Phone: 646-378-5895 Info@afnishmat.org

Mizrachi Canada | 4600 Bathurst Ave. Suite 316 |Toronto, ON M2R 3V2| Phone: 416-630-9266 mizrachi@mizrachi.ca